canva.com

8 Keys: Unlocking a Better Life

RB
5 min readJun 1, 2019

--

“When I was a child, I spoke and thought and reasoned as a child. But when I grew up, I put away childish things.” 1 Corinthians 13:11

That’s how we start. Our innocence will take us to places that as adults we dare not tread. Our patterns of thoughts and behaviors are learned early in life.

No one hands us the key to unlock the door to a perfect life. We have to figure it out on our own. Please, say it ain’t so…

My life got off to a rocky start. That 18-year-old me played havoc with my life. Yep, she did some pretty stupid things and the 40-year-old me had to pay dearly. My life has been lived upside down and sideways. It has been exhausting and exhilarating.

I’m in the boat with good company. Unfortunately, many people find themselves in this same situation. It’s a scary thought but, oh so true.

It’s the growing up and learning to think more maturely that for some of us seems to come almost too late. Early patterns of behavior and coping are hard to ditch. They seem to become hard-wired.

Becoming aware that these unproductive coping skills or thinking patterns, becomes our catalyst to make changes if we want a better life. Awareness is everything; without it, we crash and burn.

--

--

RB

RB is a retired psychotherapist, storyteller, genealogists and lover of family.